Strict Guidelines for Drunk Driving in Ohio What You Need to Know
Every single person out there is aware of how dangerous driving while under the influence of alcohol really is. In Ohio, the laws concerning drunk driving are no different and if you are caught doing so then the consequences will be severe. It would be wise to take the time to understand the strict guidelines for drunk driving in this part of the U.S. heres what you ought to know.
First and foremost, you should know that Ohio takes driving under the influence of alcohol very seriously. The per se law of Driving Under the Influence (DUI), states that it is illegal for any individual to drive a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or higher. If the driver is found to have a blood-alcohol level of 0.17 percent, then it is considered an aggravated DUI, which is grounds for more serious consequences.
If youre stopped by a law enforcement officer and they suspect youre driving under the influence you will be asked to submit to an alcohol test. If youre found to be over the permitted limit there will be various consequences, ranging from jail time and hefty fines to the mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. This device is designed to stop you from driving if youve been drinking.
Apart from the penalties associated with a DUI, you should also know that there are some extra requirements. For instance, if youre convicted of an aggravated DUI in Ohio, you will be mandated to fulfill a three-day alcohol abuse education or treatment program. You might also be required to attend an alcohol assessment program and take certain courses.
Furthermore, when convicted of a DUI, the court can also revoke or suspend your drivers license for a period of time. If your license is revoked, then you will be without the privilege of operating a vehicle for a set period of time. On the other hand, if its suspended, then youll be entitled to drive certain classes of vehicles, such as bicycles, during the period of suspension.
Additionally, non-compliance with the states drunk driving rules may lead to significant insurance premium increases. Automobile insurance companies usually take your driving record into account when calculating the premiums you pay. If youve had any recent, serious driving violations, like a DUI, you will definitely incur a high premium for a certain period.
The good news is that if youve been convicted for drunk driving, you can take certain steps to reduce the effects of the consequences. You may take a defensive driving course to reduce auto insurance premiums, attend an alcohol assessment and treatment program to minimize jail time, and also learn more about ignition interlock device laws to understand the necessary paperwork to satisfy court requirements.
Now that youve read about the strict guidelines for driving under the influence in Ohio, your next steps should be to become familiar with the laws and regulations that govern this particular situation in your state. Educating yourself is key to preventing any further complications if you find yourself breaking the rules. Besides, it is always a great idea to keep a level-head and be a responsible driver; always rely on a designated driver if you plan on drinking or get an Uber, instead.
It is imperative to keep in mind that even if you manage to avoid a DUI charge, you can still be caught engaging in other traffic violations. It is a good idea to brush up on the states traffic regulations such as speeding in construction zones, illegal turn signals, not wearing a seatbelt, reckless driving or texting while driving.
It’s also worth mentioning that if you do happen to get booked for a DUI, the charge is entered into your criminal record. Employers can check your criminal background during the recruitment process, and in many cases they won’t select a convicted DUI offender. Better be safe than sorry!
In Ohio, the police can impose some significant consequences on you even if you refuse to comply with their requests or questioning. Likewise, you may face additional fines and even jail time if you refuse to submit to the officer’s alcohol and/or drug tests. Under no circumstances should you neglect the tough guidelines for drunk driving in this state – remember, its your safety and wellbeing that counts!
We’ve mentioned that there are some positive steps you can take to lighten the blow of a DUI conviction, but what about prevention? To avoid any DUI offense, its important to understand your legal rights in this situation and exercise them when necessary. You can also get transportation services anytime you want to avoid driving under the influence, or stay in a place that offers complimentary shuttle rides or Uber vouchers so you can have peace of mind if you plan on drinking.
No matter what, always designate a sober driver if you plan on drinking, or make use of the available transportation services in your state. It’s always better to be safe than sorry. Have this in mind and drink responsibly – its your life in your hands!