what happens in ohio if you get a dui in another state
Ohio offers help to those who come from another state and get a DUI. It’s an unfortunate situation, and one that many may feel helpless in. By law, Ohio is required to uphold the laws of the other states as it relates to DUI offenses. A DUI conviction in another state also carries heavier consequences in the state of Ohio if you are a resident of the Buckeye State.
If you were arrested for a DUI in another state, you may not be aware of the repercussions of that particular state’s DUI laws in Ohio. All legal requirements are automatically enforced upon conviction, including Ohio’s point system and financial sanctions. It is a mandatory requirement for all Ohio residents who were cited out of state for a DUI to notify the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) and make sure their driver’s license remains valid.
Ohio residents may be worried about what will happen if they are convicted of a DUI in another state. It’s important to remember that Ohio holds residents to a higher standard when it comes to DUIs. The impact on your record and finances will be greater in Ohio, and you could be facing driver’s license suspension or revocation even before an Ohio court hearing. Suspension and revocation are only seen as an option if the offense in the other state is considered a serious violation.
Ohio DMV regulations state that, if a person is convicted of a DUI in another state, they must report their conviction to the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles. This report must be done within a certain period of time, generally 30 days, of receipt of the official documentation. When taking this step, an out of state DUI conviction will be marked on the Ohio driver’s record.
Without payment for the required fees, any Ohio resident who fails to report an out of state DUI conviction faces the additional penalties of a $2,000 fine and up to 6 months of jail time. A failure to report conviction may also result in the suspension or revocation of any Ohio driver’s license, greatly hampering a person’s ability to drive and making daily tasks difficult.
The consequences of an out of state DUI conviction involves the Ohio Driver Point System and sanctions imposed by the court. For instance, Ohio fines for an out-of-state DUI conviction come in three different categories, ranging from between $300 and $15,000 for first offenses and even higher for second and subsequent offenses. Additionally, license revocation and jail time can also be assessed if the out-of-state DUI is deemed by the court to be a serious offense.
Ohio law also requires drivers to serve any license suspensions, revocations, and reinstatement fees for DUI convictions in another state. A suspension of up to 1 year may be imposed if the DUI in the other state is deemed to be a serious offense or if the driver has multiple DUI convictions. If the suspension period is for less than six months, the driver may be required to serve their suspension in Ohio and then apply for a license reinstatement.
It’s important to remember that if you get caught driving while your license is suspended from an out-of-state DUI, the penalties in Ohio will be much worse. Fines for this offense can range from $200 to $2,500 as well as a mandatory jail sentence. In some cases, a criminal record can be acquired for a conviction. It’s important to abide by the license suspension in the other state and any resulting penalties that come with the DUI conviction.
To avoid additional complications, and to mitigate the negative consequences of an out-of-state DUI, it is advisable to plead guilty and pay the fines. For first-time DUI convictions, some states offer completion programs, such as Alcohol Education or Defensive Driving courses, that can be taken to reduce the charge. Furthermore, an attorney can look into the circumstances of the DUI and any further ramifications, such as vehicle impoundment, that may be applicable in other states.
Additionally, Ohio law requires out-of-state DUI offenders to take a Mandatory Intervention Program (MIP) in the state of Ohio. This program is designed to help those charged with a DUI to understand the dangers of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol and to provide educational services focused on preventing future offenses. The MIP consists of 12 hours of classroom instruction, including the explanation of Ohio laws, activities, lectures related to DUI risks and dangers, and alcohol and drug related studies.
Moreover, if you are an Ohio resident and have a DUI conviction from another state, you also become subject to the Ohio “Lookback” period. This means that any prior DUI convictions you may have will be taken into consideration when determining penalties for a DUI in the other state. A prior conviction can lead to suspension or revocation of your driver’s license, point suspension on your Ohio DMV record, or even an Ignition Interlock Device being installed in your vehicle.
Finally, anyone convicted of a DUI in another state will be considered a “high-risk” driver in the eyes of Ohio law. This means that you will be required to pay significantly higher auto insurance premiums, as well as a variety of other costs, just to drive in the state. These costs can be crippling for some, making it extremely difficult to manage a budget or even pay essential bills.
In summary, if you get a DUI in another state, Ohio is required to uphold the laws of that state. That means you could be facing driver’s license suspension or revocation, fines, jail time, or court-mandated participation in a Mandatory Intervention Program. You could also be subject to higher auto insurance premiums and other penalty fees. It’s best to plead guilty and pay the fines and educate yourself on the dangers of driving under the influence to minimize further consequences.