what hppens when u get a dui and a driving under suspension in ohio
Driving under the influence (DUI) and a driving under suspension (DUS) in Ohio are serious offenses that can permanently affect your life. Yet, many people do not understand the repercussions of getting a DUI or a DUS. Understanding the consequences of these offenses is important and this article will help you to understand what happens when you get a DUI and a DUS in Ohio.
When convicted of DUI or DUS, you can receive the same fines, court costs, and jail time as for any other criminal offense. Fines for DUI or DUS can range anywhere from $500 to $1,000. Depending on the circumstances of your DUI or DUS, court costs can range from $20 – $100. DUI and DUS convictions also result in jail time, typically from 3 days to 6 months or more.
Besides fines and jail time, there are further consequences to consider when convicted of a DUI or DUS in Ohio. For DUI and DUS, your license will be suspended for a period of 6 months to 3 yearsin some cases, the suspension period is even longer. This suspension also affects your ability to purchase auto insurance. It is important to note that the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles often maintains a record of all DUI and DUS convictions, even after the completion of any sentencing.
The consequences of a DUI or DUS dont stop there, as convicted offenders may also be required to attend mandated classes regarding alcohol education. Furthermore, your vehicle may be subject to tow and storage fees, which can cost up to $750 depending on location. Last but not least, a DUI or DUS will significantly increase car insurance premiums for a period of several years.
These are just some of the consequences that one may face after receiving a DUI or DUS in Ohio. But what if I receive both, DUI and DUS? The consequences increase if one is charged with both, DUI and DUS. As punishment, the court may order repeat offenders to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in their vehicle, to prevent further offenses. An IID requires the driver to blow into the device to determine their blood alcohol level prior to starting their vehicle and is usually required for up to two years for offenders charged with DUI and DUS.
Additionally, some offenders may be mandated not only to completed the mandated alcohol education classes, but also judge-approved treatment classes and in some cases, random drug test. Furthermore, the jail sentence for repeat DUI/DUS offenders may be longer than first time offenders.
When a DUI conviction and driving under suspension occur together, offenders may also experience difficulties attaining vehicle registration or a renewal of a suspended license. The suspension may even result in points being added to an individuals driving recordthis addition of points can lead to further suspension of an individuals privileges.
It is important to understand that if you receive a DUI or DUS, consequences can follow you for many years, even after any punishment has been served. Aside from the greatest concern of public safety, there are many financial and personal penalties that one can incur due to a DUI or DUS conviction.
Furthermore, the consequences of a DUI and DUS are at the discretion of the court and may include: fines, court costs, vehicle immobilization, probation, license suspension, jail time, community service, community control, alcohol classes, and/or drug and alcohol treatment. Not to mention, expensive towing and storage fees, an increase in car insurance premiums and an addition of points to your driving record.
Constructing an active lifestyle and making smart decisions goes beyond what looks good on paper. Being aware of the consequences helps to ensure that an individual does not find themselves in this situation. As an important reminder, never drive under the influence or with a suspended license, as the consequences are far-reaching.